Alexis M Stapp

Portfolio — and more!

2013 goals

I didn’t really make any resolutions for 2012 but looking back, I’d say I had a pretty good year:

Visited Niagara Falls for the first time
Went to my first library conference (Public Library Association in Philadelphia)
Made more new friends through grad school (I made new friends in 2011, too.)
Organized some pretty great events as SCALA president
Moved in with the love of my life
Graduated with my master’s!
Got a full-time job in library land shortly thereafter

Marcus and I were talking about resolutions the other day and at the time, I couldn’t come up with anything other than “get the apartment better organized.”  I don’t often make resolutions (as evidenced above) so had to take a few days to think about it.  Here are some of my goals:

1.  Continue to work on professional development: be more active in a professional organization, volunteer, go to a conference, take some classes or attend some webinars… things like that to keep growing my skills and knowledge in my field.

2. Get the apartment organized!  It’s not terrible, we’re generally clean folk, but there are definitely a lot of things that could be weeded out, and things that have been floating around since moving that need a home.

3.  Travel:  Marcus and I are already going to Minneapolis in a month for my 30th (dun dun dun!) birthday, which I’m very excited about, and I think the whole family may be invited to Montana for Christmas.  However, I’d like to take another trip sometime this year.  Some friends have been talking about a weekend trip somewhere like Toronto, and Marcus and I have discussed day or short weekend trips we could take to places nearby.  It may have to wait until Marcus has a job but I’m okay with that.

4.  Have people over more often: Due to budget constraints, Marcus and/or I go out maybe once or twice a month with friends, and I feel like we’re missing out (since some of them go out once or twice a week).  I love to entertain so why not have people over more often?

That’s what I’ve got so far.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “2013 goals

  1. Pingback: Things I’ve Learned in My 20s « Alexis M Stapp

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

